IMG_20160524_194622

IMG_20160524_194728

Strolling through Bloomsbury yesterday, after attending great events at the Festival of Culture, I popped in Skoob, a second hand bookshop at The Brunswick, and was pleased to find some “Machados”. They had at least Helena, Epitaph of a Small Winner, and The Wager, which you can see in the top photo. I love finding Brazilian books in second hand shops and really need to hold myself back to resist the temptation of buying all of them! As I arrived with only 10 minutes to the closing time, I could not explore the wonderful collection further. I guess there will be other treasures of Brazilian literature, not only by Machado de Assis.

Skoob is a temple for secondhand books (according to Time Out), with a selection of 55,000 uncatalogued works  cover almost every subject imaginable to rummage through.


Skoob Books,
66, The Brunswick,
Marchmont St,
London WC1N 1AE
10.30am-8pm Mon-Sat; 10.30am-6pm Sun

