Original titles: A Via Crucis do Corpo (1974) and Onde estivestes de noite (1974)
Author: Clarice Lispector
Translator: Alexis Levitin

Soulstorm‘ contains twenty-nine stories from two short story collections, originally published in two separate volumes: A Via Crucis do Corpo and Onde estivestes de noite. Lispector’s characters live small stifled lives, often unware of their own suffering, but her lucid and richly textured narratives allow us, the readers, the epiphanies that they themselves are denied. Alexis Levitan’s translations of Clarice Lispector’s stories won the 1984 Van de Bovencamp-Armand G. Erpf International Award, given by the Translation Center, Columbia University.

Soulstorm_Clarice Lispector

Paperback: 176 pages
Publisher: New Directions (13 Sept. 1989)
Translator: Alexis Levitin
ISBN-10: 081121091X
ISBN-13: 978-0811210911
Click here to buy this book